The Northwest Colorado Region

Northwest Colorado Council of Governments (NWCCOG) is located just west of Denver in the northwest portion of the State of Colorado and includes the counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin and Summit. It is in the heart of the Rocky Mountains. The region is bordered in the east by the Continental Divide, in the north by Wyoming, to the west by Garfield County, and to the south by the Elk Mountain Range in Pitkin County. The region is special because of its rural character and tourism-oriented economy. A main section of the region has I-70 running through it, the state’s main east-west transportation corridor. This enhances the proximity of the region to Denver/Front Range metropolitan communities, and Grand Junction. This proximity to a large metropolitan area has contributed greatly to the region’s popularity as a mountain recreational area. The region’s economy has transformed over time from a combination of mining and agriculture in its early history (1800s) to recreational tourism today. The quality of life, the mix of local businesses, a skilled workforce, a beautiful natural setting, and the international name recognition provided by world-class ski resorts are invaluable underpinnings unique to the region’s economy.

Region Quick Facts:

Population 117,691
Square Miles 6,777
Population Denisty 17.37
Largest Municipality City of Aspen: Pop. 7,099
Smallest Municipality Town of Montezuma: Pop: 71
Total Households  
Total Housing Units  
Avg. Median Household Income  
Median Household Income: Highest in Region  
Median Household Income: Lowest in Region  
My Favorites
My Favorites
Add Page
Add Page
You have 0 items saved in "My Favorites"
Use "My Favorites" to collect pages and downloads that you would like to keep in one place. To store a page, click on the "Add to My Favorites" button at the top of the page. To store a download, click on the plus button next to the download link. My Favorites will be saved for seven days.