About NWCCOG / Our Region / Natural Environment

National and State Parks

National Forests

Wilderness Areas

In 1964, the Congress of the United States passed a law known as the Wilderness Act, which created a National Wilderness Preservation System to provide an "enduring resource of wilderness" for future generations. President Lyndon Johnson signed the Wilderness Act into law on September 3, 1964.
Wilderness, according to the Wilderness Act, "...in contrast with those areas where man and his own works dominate the landscape, is hereby recognized as an area where the earth and its community of life are untrammeled by man, where man himself is a visitor who does not remain." The Wilderness Act goes on to describe wilderness as a place "retaining its primeval character and influence" where there are "outstanding opportunities for solitude".
There are 36 wilderness areas in Colorado, 14 of which touch at least one of the five counties that make up Region 12.  These 14 wilderness areas make up a total of 1,366,032 acres, and represent 39% of the total wilderness acres in the state.  The following are the wilderness areas in Region 12:

Eagle County:
Grand County: Pitkin County: Summit County:

Wild and Scenic Rivers

  • None

Endangered and Threatened Species

Prime/Unique Agricultural Lands

  • None in the NWCCOG Region

Superfund, Economic Response, Compensation and Liability Act, Resource Conservation and Recovery Act, Brownfields

  • One Superfund Site in NWCCOG Region: Eagle Mine - State Highway 24 between Gilman and Minturn, Colorado in Eagle County

Other Environmentally Challenged Areas:

  • Hazardous Chemical Manufacturers or Storage of - None.
  • Pesticides: Manufacturers or Major Users of - None.
  • Sole Source Aquifers for Drinking Water: There are no sole source aquifiers for drinking water in the State of Colorado.
  • Wellhead protection areas for protecting drinking water - None in the NWCCOG Region.
  • Nonattainment areas for critical pollutants under the Clean Air Act - None.

100-year Flood Plains


Archeological, Historical, Prehistoric, or Cultural Resource Sites

  • Click here for a list of historic sites in NWCCOG's Region

Coastal Zone

  • The NWCCOG Region is not in a dedicated coastal zone, nor in a coastal state.
My Favorites
My Favorites
Add Page
Add Page
You have 0 items saved in "My Favorites"
Use "My Favorites" to collect pages and downloads that you would like to keep in one place. To store a page, click on the "Add to My Favorites" button at the top of the page. To store a download, click on the plus button next to the download link. My Favorites will be saved for seven days.